To Teach, You Need to Persuade

Your lesson plan is competing for attention.

David Weller

--

Photo by Ryan KLAUS on Unsplash

In ‘Why Students Don’t Like School’, cognitive scientist Daniel Willingham says that just as an author has to persuade the reader not to wander off, so a teacher has to persuade students to continue learning.

“Teaching is an act of persuasion”

- Daniel Willingham

When I read this, I remembered many lessons where it took all my powers of persuasion to keep my students attention as we heroically battled a particularly boring coursebook chapter.

I cajoled, encouraged, praised and did all I could to stop their eyelids drooping. Another time, teaching a different class, I failed.

What was the difference? How can you persuade some learners to focus, and not others?

How Do You Persuade Students?

To start with, you need respect. As Willingham says, “If you have students’ respect, they will try to pay attention both to please you and because they trust you..”

Gaining respect can take time, and there are no shortcuts.

The single fastest way to get students to respect you, is to respect them first, and show them that you’re paying attention to them as individuals.

Another way is to take a connection centred approach, where you focus on the learners’ interests.

Every two weeks, I publish a newsletter for teachers, trainers and managers.

To pick up your free subscription, visit me over at www.barefootTEFLteacher.com

--

--

David Weller

Lessons, stories and visuals to develop your language teaching and learning. 20 years in education, 3 books, and a twice-monthly newsletter.